install RedHat Linux 9 with Windows 2000

Hi, I am new to Linux and trying to install Red Hat 9. I have Windows 2000 on NTFS and 5 GB free partition for Linux. I have put LILO in MBR. I am able to install ie. no error messages, however, it does not give me the option for Dual boot and goes directly to Windows.

Everything Linux 1798 This topic was started by ,

data/avatar/default/avatar12.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-10-01
Hi,

I am new to Linux and trying to install Red Hat 9.

I have Windows 2000 on NTFS and 5 GB free partition for Linux.

I have put LILO in MBR.
I am able to install ie. no error messages, however, it does not give me the option for Dual boot and goes directly to Windows.
Default boot was selected as Linux.
I have not created a Boot Disk.

Thank you.

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic

data/avatar/default/avatar04.webp

1678 Posts
Location -
Joined 2003-09-27
It's been a while since I've had to do it, but if you put the install cd back in and choose "upgrade" rather than install, it will take you through the same process except it won't install any packages. This way, you can retry to install the bootloader correctly. Tell it that Windows is on hda1, which is where it usually is. Just take your time with it and you'll figure it out. Good Luck, and let us know how you come out.

data/avatar/default/avatar31.webp

3 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-10-02