Wireless : Broadcom on Compaq Presario R3000T

Hello, I'm very new to Linux I just set up a dual boot xp/Mandrake 10 on my new Compaq Presario R3000T notebook. I've got most everything working with mandrake so far, but haven't been able to get online.

Linux Hardware 765 This topic was started by ,

data/avatar/default/avatar31.webp

2 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-04-08
Hello,

I'm very new to Linux -- I just set up a dual boot xp/Mandrake 10 on my new Compaq Presario R3000T notebook.

I've got most everything working with mandrake so far, but haven't been able to get online. I have a Broadcom 54g MaxPerformance 802.11g network adapter, and a 1394 Net Adapter. I'm not sure what the latter is for, but thought I might as well mention it.

I'm trying to find out how to make it work-- I went to Broadcom's driver page, there are no drivers for this model. I emailed them and they told me to talk to Compaq. So I emailed support at Compaq and this is what I get ::

Quote:Dear Frizzo, 
The Presario computer is designed to run with Windows XP operating system, which is factory installed. I understand that you have installed Linux and would like the compatible drivers for Wireless device for your Linux operating system. We are unable to provide you with the compatible drivers and regret the inconvenience caused.

What next??! I don't want to have to send this thing back for a refund... I'm sure there has to be a way? Can someone please help?

Thanks
Frizzo

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic

data/avatar/default/avatar06.webp

19 Posts
Location -
Joined 2003-09-28